Scientist for the development and operation of DAPHNE4NFDI services

For our location in Hamburg we are seeking:

Scientist for the development and operation of DAPHNE4NFDI services

Remuneration Group 13 | Limited: 30.09.2026 | Starting date: earliest possible | ID: FHMA018/2022 | Deadline: 06.10.2022 | Full-time/Part-time

DESY, with more than 2700 employees at its two locations in Hamburg and Zeuthen, is one of the world's leading research centres. Its research focuses on decoding the structure and function of matter, from the smallest particles of the universe to the building blocks of life. In this way, DESY contributes to solving the major questions and urgent challenges facing science, society and industry. With its ultramodern research infrastructure, its interdisciplinary research platforms and its international networks, DESY offers a highly attractive working environment in the fields of science, technology and administration as well as for the education of highly qualified young scientists.

The Information Technology (IT) group supports the DESY divisions in all aspects of information and communication technology and creates the digital environment for the scientific work of DESY users, as well as for the many other tasks in the areas of accelerator development, technical infrastructure and administration. The Information Fabrics group supports the user community at DESY by providing the required tools.

DAPHNE4NFDI is a project within the National Research Data Infrastructure (NFDI). The aim is to enable open access to research data from photon and neutron experiments, to integrate user-oriented solutions and to utilize an extensive scientific infrastructure. The project is a partnership between 7 research institutions and 11 universities from different scientific disciplines and other international partners.

Your task will be to support DAPHNE4NFDI users to implement tailor-made integrations or to design, implement and launch new services using cloud architectures and federated AAI in a high-performance infrastructure. You will initially set up and operate a service based on SciCat, which enables convenient and partially automated ingesting of metadata from experiments and facilitates better use of the data according to the FAIR principles. You will also develop and implement further solutions to support scientific work in consultation with the project participants.

About your role:

  • Supporting the various scientific groups from the fields of Photon and Neutron Sciences by development, introduction and operation of research-related IT services
  • Actively supporting the groups during commissioning of the services
  • Analysing requirements, surveying the market and selecting solutions in consultation with the scientific groups
  • Testing and evaluating possible solutions
  • Developing of software for integration into the DAPHNE4NFDI service environment
  • Documenting of the software and services
  • Informing and training the user groups and other IT groups regarding the implemented solutions

Good reasons to join:

Look forward to a unique working environment on our international research campus. We attach particular importance to appreciative cooperation and the well-being of our DESY employees. Gender equality is an important aspect for us. To support work life balance we offer flexible working hours, variable part-time and job-sharing. You will benefit from our family-friendly and collegial atmosphere, our established health management and occupational pension provision. As a public funded employer, we offer you a secure workplace and facilitate your individual career with our comprehensive training and development opportunities. Remuneration is according to the regulations of the TV-AVH. DESY offers its employees a financial supplement for a job ticket at both locations.

Limited: 30.09.2026

About you:

  • A university degree (M.Sc.) in computer science, physics or equivalent completed scientific training
  • Enthusiasm for science and in particular for supporting of scientists in their projects
  • Ability to correctly select technologies and solutions for existing problems
  • Experience in the implementation of IT solutions, as well as in the operation and maintenance of services for science
  • Experience in determining requirements and scientific process flows
  • Ability to communicate effectively in German and English, both verbally and in writing

For further information please contact Peter van der Reest at +49 40 8998-3315 (peter.van.der.reest@desy.de).

Please submit your complete application documents (letter of motivation, CV and relevant certificates) via our application portal.

We look forward to receiving your application via our application portal:

Apply now

DESY promotes equal opportunities and diversity. The professional development of women is very important to us and therefore we strongly encourage women to apply for the vacant position. Applications from severely disabled persons will be given preference if they are equally qualified.

You can find further information here:
https://www.desy.de/career/

Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY
Personalabteilung
Notkestraße 85
22607 Hamburg
Phone: +49 40 8998-3392

Deadline for applications: 06.10.2022

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin (w/m/d) für die Entwicklung und den Betrieb von DAPHNE4NFDI Diensten

Header-Image

Für den Standort Hamburg suchen wir:

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin (w/m/d) für die Entwicklung und den Betrieb von DAPHNE4NFDI Diensten

Entgeltgruppe 13 | Befristet: 30.09.2026 | Start: frühestmöglich | ID: FHMA018/2022 | Bewerbungsschluss: 06.10.2022 | Vollzeit/Teilzeit

Das Deutsche Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY mit seinen mehr als 2700 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern an den Standorten Hamburg und Zeuthen zählt zu den weltweit führenden Forschungszentren. Im Mittelpunkt der Forschung steht die Entschlüsselung der Struktur und Funktion von Materie, von den kleinsten Teilchen des Universums bis hin zu den Bausteinen des Lebens. Damit trägt DESY zur Lösung der großen Fragen und drängenden Herausforderungen von Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft bei. Mit seiner hochmodernen Forschungsinfrastruktur, seinen interdisziplinär angelegten Forschungs-Plattformen und seiner internationalen Vernetzung verfügt DESY über ein hochattraktives Arbeitsumfeld im wissenschaftlichen, technischen und administrativen Bereich sowie für die Ausbildung von hochqualifiziertem Nachwuchs.

Die Gruppe Informationstechnologie (IT) unterstützt die DESY-Bereiche in allen Belangen der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik und schafft Voraussetzungen für die wissenschaftliche Arbeit der Nutzer:innen DESYs, sowie für die vielfältigen anderen Aufgaben in den Bereichen Beschleunigerentwicklung, technische Infrastruktur und Verwaltung. Die Fachgruppe Information Fabrics unterstützt die Nutzerschaft am DESY mit der Bereitstellung der dafür benötigten Werkzeuge.

DAPHNE4NFDI ist ein Projekt im Rahmen der Nationalen Forschungsdaten Infrastruktur (NFDI). Ziel ist es, einen offenen Zugang zu Forschungsdaten aus Photonen und Neutronen Experimenten zu ermöglichen und dabei nutzernahe Lösungen, sowie eine weitreichende Infrastruktur einzubinden. Das Projekt ist eine Partnerschaft zwischen 7 Forschungseinrichtungen und 11 Universitäten aus verschiedenen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen und weiteren internationalen Partnern.

Ihre Aufgabe wird es sein, die Nutzer:innen bei DAPHNE4NFDI dabei zu unterstützen, maßgeschneiderte Integrationen zu realisieren oder neue Dienste unter Nutzung von Cloud-Architekturen und föderierter AAI zu entwerfen, zu implementieren und in den Betrieb in einer Hochleistungsinfrastruktur einzuführen. Sie werden zunächst den Aufbau eines Dienstes auf Basis von SciCat, welcher die komfortable und teil-automatisierte Aufnahme von Metadaten der Experimente und eine bessere Nutzung der Daten nach dem FAIR-Prinzip ermöglicht, durchführen und den Dienst betreiben. Ebenso werden Sie in Absprache mit den Projektteilnehmern weitere Lösungen zur Unterstützung der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit entwickeln und einführen.

Wofür wir Ihre Unterstützung benötigen:

  • Unterstützung der verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Gruppen aus den Bereichen Photonen und Neutronen bei der Entwicklung, Einführung und dem Betrieb von forschungsbezogenen IT-Diensten
  • Aktive Betreuung der Gruppen bei der Inbetriebnahme der Dienste
  • Anforderungsaufnahme, Marktschau und Produktauswahl in Absprache mit den wissenschaftlichen Gruppen
  • Testen und Bewerten von möglichen Lösungen
  • Entwicklung von Software zur Integration in die DAPHNE4NFDI Service-Umgebung
  • Dokumentation der Software und der Dienste
  • Informieren und Schulen der Nutzergruppen sowie anderer IT-Gruppen zu den implementierten Lösungen

Was uns auszeichnet:

Freuen Sie sich auf ein einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld auf unserem internationalen Forschungscampus. Wir legen großen Wert auf ein wertschätzendes Miteinander und das Wohlbefinden unserer DESYanerinnen und DESYaner. Die Gleichstellung aller Menschen ist uns ein wichtiges Anliegen. Für eine bessere Vereinbarkeit von beruflichem und privatem Leben bietet DESY flexible Arbeitszeiten, variable Teilzeit und Job-Sharing-Modelle. Sie profitieren von unserer familienfreundlichen und kollegialen Atmosphäre, unserem etablierten Gesundheitsmanagement sowie unserer betrieblichen Altersvorsorge. Als öffentlich finanzierter Arbeitgeber bieten wir Ihnen einen sicheren Arbeitsplatz und unterstützen Ihre individuelle Entwicklung mit unseren umfangreichen Aus- und Weiterbildungsangeboten. Die Vergütung erfolgt nach den Regelungen des TV-AVH. DESY bietet seinen Beschäftigten an beiden Standorten einen Zuschuss zum Jobticket.

Befristet: 30.09.2026

Was Sie auszeichnet:

  • Abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Studium (M.Sc.) der Informatik, Physik oder gleichwertige abgeschlossene wissenschaftliche Ausbildung
  • Begeisterung für die Wissenschaft und insbesondere die Unterstützung von Wissenschaftler:innen bei ihren Projekten
  • Fähigkeit, Technologien und Lösungen für vorhandene Fragestellungen richtig auszuwählen
  • Erfahrung in der Implementierung von IT-Lösungen sowie mit dem Betrieb und der Pflege von Diensten für die Wissenschaft
  • Erfahrung bei der Ermittlung von Anforderungen und wissenschaftlichen Prozessabläufen
  • Verbindliche Kommunikation in deutscher und englischer Sprache

Fachliche Fragen beantwortet Ihnen gern Herr Peter van der Reest unter +49 40 8998-3315 (peter.van.der.reest@desy.de).

Bitte reichen Sie uns Ihre vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen (Motivationsschreiben, Lebenslauf und relevante Zeugnisse) über unser Bewerbungsportal ein.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung über unser Bewerbungsportal:

Jetzt bewerben

DESY fördert Chancengerechtigkeit und Vielfalt. Die berufliche Entwicklung von Frauen ist uns besonders wichtig und deshalb bitten wir Frauen nachdrücklich, sich um die zu besetzende Stelle zu bewerben. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen werden bei gleicher Eignung bevorzugt berücksichtigt.

Weiterführende Informationen finden Sie unter:
https://www.desy.de/karriere/

Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY
Personalabteilung
Notkestraße 85
22607 Hamburg
Telefon: +49 40 8998-3392

Bewerbungsschluss: 06.10.2022